top of page

The 4 C's of Diamonds: Cut

Updated: Jun 17, 2020

Buying a diamond can be confusing, but it doesn't have to be. The next four blog posts are going to be dedicated to the four C's of diamonds: cut, color, clarity, and carat. Hopefully, these posts will add some "clarity" to your diamond-buying process!

The first C is cut. We often think of the cut of a diamond as it's shape (round, pear, oval, etc.). However, it's a bit more complicated than that. The cut of a diamond also refers to it's facets, or surfaces. Properly cut and placed facets are what give diamonds their ability to transmit light and sparkle. While the cut of a diamond is highly critical to the value and beauty of a diamond, it is also the most difficult of the C's to analyze.

The cut scale is excellent, very good, good, fair, and poor. While often overlooked, the cut of a stone can have a huge impact on a diamond's value and beauty. Don't ignore the cut!

For a more in-depth discussion on diamond cut, check out GIA's excellent tutorial.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page