top of page

The 4 C's of Diamonds: Color

The second segment of our four part series dedicated to the four C's of diamonds addresses color. When we think of diamonds we typically think they're colorless, right? However, diamonds actually come in a rainbow of colors. "Fancy color diamonds" can display blue, red, green, etc., and are typically rare and expensive. For the sake of simplicity, we're going to focus on traditional, non-fancy colored diamonds.

The color grading scale for diamonds is D-Z, with D being colorless and more costly. At the opposing end of the spectrum are diamonds that are light yellow or brown, known as Z colored diamonds. The best way to understand and see the color in diamonds is to compare them to one another. While the subtle difference between a G and H diamond might be hard to detect, the color difference becomes more apparent when comparing G and L colored diamonds. Diamonds are typically set into white gold or platinum heads and bezels to enhance their colorlessness.

Looking for more information regarding diamond color? Take a look a GIA's color tutorial.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page